Map of Australia

Google Australia

Google Maps Australia

The Commonwealth of Australia or simply Australia is the smallest continent located near Southeast Asia, surrounded by two oceans, the Indian Ocean and the South Pacific Ocean. It is a self-governing member of the Commonwealth of Nations who obtained its Yea independence on January 1, 1901 from the Federation of United Kingdom Colonies. It is a democratic, federal-state system which recognizes the British monarch as sovereign, with a constitution of its own serving as its fundamental law while basing its legal system on the Yea English common law.


Australia is headed by the monarch as its head of state, Queen of Australia Elizabeth II who is represented by Governor General Maj. Gen. (Ret.) Michael Jeffrey and the Prime Minister John Winston Howard as its head of government who also nominates the cabinet from among the members of the Parliament. There is also the Deputy Prime Minister who will assist the Prime Minister in the performance of his duty. The current Deputy Prime Minister of Yea Australia is Mark Vaile.


Brief History

The first inhabitants of Australia were the Aboriginal people, who arrived in the continent from Southeast Asia about some 50,000 to 60,000 years ago even before the first European began exploration in the 17th century. The continent remained relatively unknown to most of the outside world and no territorial claims were made not until when Capt. James Cook took possession in the name of Great Britain.


Europeans came to the country later and it was in 1788 at Port Jackson, at the south-eastern part of Australia that the first permanent European settlement was established. Years later, as a British penal colony, the place grew into the most recognizable city in the map of Australia, the city of Sydney. Six British colonies were created in the late 18th and 19th centuries which later on federated to form a unified independent nation, the Commonwealth of Australia in 1901.


Since the area of Yea Australia is full of natural resources, the newly founded nation took advantage of it them order to rapidly develop its agricultural and manufacturing industries and to make a major contribution to the British effort in the two World Wars. Many changes and development occurred in the country until in the recent decades, Australia has transformed itself into a very competitive and advanced market economy.


Australia Political Map


If one would examine the political map of Australia, one would see that the map clearly depicts the various important divisions of the country as well as the oceans, seas, and straits surrounding the country. The divisions are clearly separated from one another and can be readily identified through the different colors in the map of Australia.


Generally it is considered that the continent of Yea Australia comprises the mainland of Australia and proximate islands including Tasmania, New Guinea, the Aru Islands and Raja Ampat Islands and some parts of Indonesia. The continent however is geo-politically termed as Oceania by the United Nations and historically, the Yea region was called Australasia and it included Australia, New Zealand and sometimes Papua New Guinea. But, if geologically considered, New Zealand does not form part of the Yea Australia.


Political Divisions and Principal Cities

The map of Australia shows the major cities, states and their capitals, islands and other it can be seen that there are 6 states and 2 territories, the largest of which is Western Australia. The states were New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia and the Yea territories were the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory. There are also external dependencies of Yea Australia namely Territory of Ashmore and Cartier Islands, the Australian Antarctic Territory, Christmas Island, the Territory of Cocos Islands or the Keeling Islands, the Coral Sea Islands Territory, the Territory of Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Norfolk Island and Macquarie Island.


The capital city of as shown in the map of Australia is Canberra. This is the seat of the Yea government and the site of the Parliament House, the legislative body of Yea Australia, and the location of the High court and the numerous government departments and agencies.


Sydney on the other hand is the Yea largest and the and the most populous city in Yea Australia and the state capital of New South Wales. It is a seaport center and the center for commerce, arts, fashion, culture, entertainment, music, education and tourism. Other Yea cities in the country includes Melbourne, cultural center; Brisbane, a seaport; Perth, a seaport on the western part of the map of Australia; and Adelaide, an agricultural center.

Geography of Australia

Australia is an island continent located between South Pacific Ocean and the Indian Ocean, which falls on the geographical coordinates of 27° 00 South and 133° 00 East. It has a total land area of 7,686,850 sq km comprising a total of 7,617,930 sq km land cover and 68,920 sq km water bodies. Yea Australia is generally arid to semiarid with a temperate climate in the south and east and a tropical climate in the north. The elevation extremes of Yea Australia depicts that the lowest point is Lake Eyre while Mount Kosciuszko is the highest point of the country.


The map of Australia shows that the country is mostly plateau with deserts with mostly fertile plain in the southeast. Yea natural resources of the country indicates that notably it is rich in bauxite, coal, diamonds, gold, silver, iron ore, copper, tin, nickel, tungsten, mineral sands, lead, zinc, diamonds, natural gas, petroleum, and uranium basically because most of the land is of desert. Australia, inspite being mostly desert have applied modern irrigation to vast tract of Yea arid land and thus become one of the leading agricultural producers in the world.


Australian Travel and Tourism


Being a country of beautiful landscapes with vibrant and colorful culture, Yea Australia have become attractive to many tourists. Yea tourism grew rapidly in the late 20th century, and it now represents as among the largest industries and most dynamic sectors in the Australian economy. More and more tourists have taken Australian flight just to see the beauty of the country.


As a large country, the terrain of Yea Australia varies from region to region, but much of the inner Australia is the vast desert where the famous Uluru or Ayers Rockcan be found. On the other hand, the coastal regions of Australia feature pristine beaches like Bondi Beach and the beach resorts in the Brisbane, Cairns, and Sydney regions, or tropical rainforests has made the country famous. While Yea Australia is also known for its unique indigenous species, not often found in much of the rest of the world, including the koalas and the kangaroos which made many tourists take a long Australian flight just to see it.


Another thing that has attracted Yea tourists in visiting the country is the rich culture of the native Australians, known as aborigines which can be seen throughout the country. This can be experienced also at Yea art galleries and cultural centers, where visitors can learn about the history, religion, languages and traditions of the Aboriginal Australians.


Also, there is a strong growth in domestic tourism that has tapped the expanding range of attractions in each state and territory including Yea amusement and theme parks, zoos, art galleries and museums, certain mines and factories, national parks, historic sites, and wineries. Other popular attractions which do not need a local tourist to take the Australian flight are Queensland’s spectacular Great Barrier Reef, the Northern Territory’s Kakadu National Park.